Valentine’s Day Heart Wreath


I know that Valentine’s Day is still a while away, but I have decided to start getting some of my decorations made so I’m ready come February 1st! The first project I decided to attempt, and am now in love with, is the above Valentine’s Day Heat Wreath. Here’s how you do it…

What you need:

  • 45 sheets of felt (I used 9 x 12 sheets) – this may also be more or less depending on the size of your wreath
  • wreath – I decided to use a heart shaped one, to stick with the Valentine’s theme. I had to get a straw wreath, as Michael’s was all out of the foam ones – but you can use either and any shape.
  • scissors
  • hot glue gun

1) Start with your felt sheets – you can use whatever color combination you want. I decided to do red, pink and white.

2) Cut the felt sheets into 4 – 4″ squares. You will have a leftover rectangle, hang onto this – you can use it later for this project, or for another future project. I ended up not needing the leftovers for this project, so I created another one, which I will share with you later!  These squares, as you can see, do not need to be cut perfectly and can just be eyeballed.

3) Cut each of the squares into a swirl. I drew out the swirl, above, so you can see what I am talking about. Once you cut one of the swirls out, you’ll get the hang of it and won’t need to draw it out each time. Also, I started cutting 2 squares at once to save some time.

You’ll end up with a pile of felt swirls! Again, these do not need to be perfectly cut.

4) Starting at the center of the swirl start wrapping it around itself and you’ll end up with a little rosette. It took me a couple times to get a hang/feel for this, but it’s really easy and mindless. I watched a few episodes of Criminal Minds (my current obsession) while doing these.  You don’t need to glue the end, as the felt seems to sit to itself, but I did end up putting a small dab of hot glue on the end as I was gluing them onto the wreath.

I used a cookie tray to hold my rosettes – I actually ended up with about 2 cookie trays full – these worked really nice to hold them until I glued them onto the wreath.

5) Start gluing the rosettes onto your wreath!

I started on the top center and then filled in around it. If needed, you can cut your leftover rectangles into smaller squares, to make tiny rosettes to fill in any empty spaces.

To hang it I just pinned some heart shaped ribbon on the back. And then you’re done! Super easy and I absolutely love how it turned out.

This entry was posted in DIY, Uncategorized, Valentine's Day, Wreath. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Valentine’s Day Heart Wreath

  1. looks so awesome! you must have alot of patience!

Leave a Reply

