Pink Giraffe Painting

A while back I saw this on Pinterest and thought it would be perfect for my bathroom, as it has a whale theme – only to click on the pic and find out that it take you to an Etsy site. I HATE when you get sent to pointless sites (i.e. Etsy, just another pin of the same thing, etc) – Pinners, you know what I’m talking about. But I digress….

Instead of doing the whale, which I may still do, I decided to do a giraffe (surprise, surprise) and of course needed to make it pink. Here’s how it went…

The inspiration for my giraffe came from the decal I have on the back of my iPad!

What you will need:

  • 3 canvases – I used 8 x 10 in.
  • paper to make the stencil – I only had construction paper at the time, which worked just fine
  • pencil
  • ruler
  • exacto knife
  • scissors
  • paint (I have a pic of the colors I used, which I will share later)

I cut my paper down to the size of my canvases and then laid them out and taped them onto my table and drew from there.

Once I had the drawing done, I cut out each piece and then traced it onto the canvases. The one above, which may be hard to see, is the body of my giraffe.

Then it’s time to start painting! Above are the colors I used.

I started by painting the outlines 1st, as this takes a steady hand and the rest is just filling in!

Just fill in around your outline. I ended up doing 2-3 coats of paint, depending on the color.

Since the neck is just a straight line I just used some scotch tape and taped it off so I didn’t have to keep a steady hand.

This worked out really well, and I used the same ‘technique’ when I did the neck and legs of body canvas.

Then I just added some spots.

And gave it a quick spray of a clear coat and hung it up!

I’m really happy with how it turned out and now keep thinking about making the whale for the bathroom.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pink Giraffe Painting

  1. Melanie says:

    Love it! Make sure the whale will hold up to moisture in the bathroom. Or is that the reason for the topcoat?

  2. Jessica Campolo says:

    super cute leah!

Leave a Reply

